Parish Pastoral Council (PPC)

The Parish Pastoral Council (PPC), in collaboration with the pastor, assumes the overall well-being of the parish, present and future. Its primary work is strategic pastoral planning; its secondary work is consultative, proposing practical solutions to the ongoing life of the parish.

Members of the PPC are individuals with talent in planning and designing parish mission, vision and goals. They are committed to the parish as a whole, are willing to serve for three years, are able to attend council meetings and can work collaboratively with each other and the pastor.

The PPC is accountable to multiple groups and fulfills its function by being responsible to the parish community, the pastor, the Bishop, the diocesan pastoral council and itself.

The PPC is not a board of directors that defines the role of or manages the pastor. The council has no responsibility to oversee or direct the pastor. The PPC, in its consultative capacity advises the pastor on issues that he brings for discussion. Council members may present issues that they have observed or heard, but the council does not take the role of parishioner advocacy or pastor evaluator.

To work effectively, the PPC has no more less than five members and keeps within a range of seven to twelve members. More than twelve and less than five members handicap effective group dynamics, discussion and decision-making. The PPC includes the pastor, parochial vicar and discerned parishioners. Discernment for new members occurs in the spring.

Parish Pastoral Council meetings are held on the second Monday of every month in Room 167.  All are welcome to attend.

The PPC welcomes your thoughts, questions and concerns. Contact the PPC Executive Committee via email: pastoralcouncil@st-raphael.com.

Parish By-Laws (Adopted May 2013)


Parish Commissions

The ministries of St. Raphael are grouped into six categories:

• Adult Faith Formation

• Liturgical Life

• School

• Religious Education (Grade 1 – 8)

• Youth Ministry Commission (High School)

• Service Ministry and Pastoral Care

Each of these groups has a leadership body known as a commission. Commissions meet monthly (except July and August) to coordinate specific areas of ministry.

2017-2018 Pastoral Council
Executive Committee

Susie Allen – AFF
sallen71957@gmail.com

Fr. Dan Bachner – Pastor

Gerard Fosco – Member at Large
g.fosco@sbcglobal.net

Margaret Foye – Member at Large
margaret.foye@gmail.com

Bill Gallagher – LLC
wbgallagher@gmail.com

Fr. John Honiotes – Pastoral Vicor
jhoniotes@st-raphael.com

Peter Houtman – Member at Large
peter.Houtman@gea.com

Mike Huck –  SMPC
mhuck0459@att.net

Dennis Kiraly – Finance
dkiraly1@gmail.com

Deacon Kurt Lange – Staff Rep
klange@st-raphael.com

Peter Makris – Member at Large
peter.makris@ejgallo.com

Phil McEntee – RE
pmcentee@msn.com

Laura Mersinger – School
mersingers@comcast.net

Aaron Nosek – Member at Large
aaron.nosek@keson.com

Liz Russell – Member at Large
elrussell50@gmail.com